top of page

My name is Taylor. Located in Cincinnati.

This is my journey I want to share with you.

Fashion. Beauty. Lifestyle

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Search

10 Things They Don't Tell You As a New Blogger | From a New Blogger


I started this journey with you all back in the Fall. So far it has been my creative outlet that has produced a new sense of joy and excitement in my life. I have met so many creative individuals and been apart of several different events revolved around blogging. My passion for it continues to grow more and more everyday.


When I first began this endeavor (see my first post here), I noted this was second time attempt to blog about my life and interests. However, this time I have maintained consistent and learned some things along the way. Today's post I want to share with you what I've learned and tidbits on being a new blogger. I am still a novice at this whole thing so everything I share is just my own experience.


1. It is okay to be lost and confused.

  • I am learning something everyday since beginning this blog. I thought I had researched everything there was to know, and boy was I wrong. There is going to be times where you have absolutely no idea if what you are doing is right or wrong, and that is okay. As with everything in life it takes time and you can literally spend hours on top of hours researching about blogging 101. Research is important, but don't spend all of your time researching and not actually putting your plans into action. You may fail at one thing but excel on the next. It is all about the experience!

2. Find a community

  • Cincinnati Bloggers is one of the top reasons I have continued this blog compared to the first one I started. Layla (her blog) and Shelby (her blog) started an blogger community for local creatives around Cincinnati and beyond. It has aided my blogging experience by being surrounded around like minded creatives that understand the blogging world. Furthermore, I have been able to connect with businesses to do campaigns that may not have happened if it weren't for being apart of that group. I definitely recommend finding a group that brings together bloggers near you. Remember, we work best together not apart!



3. SAVE & RE-USE

  • This is more of a personal reminder. I wrote a post awhile back and took for granted not saving it in two places. Well I accidentally deleted the post without saving it in another place. My heart shattered as a blog post in completion is worth more than gold. So my advice to you is to save your blog post in two places, maybe even three! Don't be afraid to re-use content in future posting. I have used a similar fashion post on Instagram but tailored the messaging different in other posts. Get creative and don't think you have to always come up with something new for every bit of content you put out.

4. It ain't glamorous.

  • You know that beautiful influencer/blogger who is traveling the world, buying the most expensive items, and attending every event? She didn't start that way and I am sure you won't either. You can definitely become that person but it is going to take hard work and dedication. Behind those amazing pictures you see on the gram' it probably took hours upon hours to get that one perfect shot. Just keep mind, behind the alluring aspects of blogging there will moments of unease and stress, but all in all it is worth it!

5. Take pictures of everything, I mean everything!

  • Pictures are a big part of blogging. Your pictures are what lures your audience to follow you. So I suggest begin taking pictures of anything and everything. Your life may not seem overly interesting but the more material the better is my moto. I try to take three pictures everyday to potentially use in the future. I take pictures of my food, outfits, scenery, makeup, and etc. Those pictures have come in handy when I am in need of a post on the gram' and blog!

6. Schedule, plan, and execute.

  • I am guilty of not following this agenda. However, when I do I gain further exposure and my content is much more concise. Take time to schedule your blog life. I schedule a time to take pictures, future blog posts, or weekly blog/Instagram themes. All of that scheduling leads to my overall plan for my upcoming content. Of course, once you've done all of that it is so much easier to execute. We are all busy within other areas of our lives. I try to devote a minimum of 3 hours to schedule and plan weekly. That small amount of hours spent will definitely enhance your blog material/content.

  • There's literally a free app to do anything. I use Planoly for Instagram scheduled post, Lightroom to edit pics Storyluxe to create Instagram stories, Typorama to edit images with text for Pinterest and Pic Collage to edit pictures.



7. Find your voice.

  • It is very easy to want to mimic others you see excelling in their blogging career. However you are not them. You are you and that is unique. Find your voice and your passion to share with the world. It will be much easier to continue to develop material with substance if it comes from your own interests/hobbies.


8. Numbers are important but your messaging is crucial

  • Try not to focus on how many followers, likes, subscribers, or posts you have starting out. In my opinion I would rather follow a blogger with less followers that spreads interesting information vs. a blogger who doesn't seem genuine in their posts. Growing your numbers organically makes blogging much more special when you know you put forth an honest effort.

9. Oversharing is not a thing

  • I have learned that people take interests in others lives because it either resembles their own, so it makes them feel more at ease. In addition they could be looking for inspiration in others that they might not have in themselves. Share your 'so-called' boring morning routine, new recipe, or gym workout. You never know who may be intrigued which could lead to a follow!

10. Cliche, but have fun!

  • If you are just starting this journey remember to have fun. Try to eliminate the stress and worries you may have in your head. This new adventure will get difficult but if you aren't having fun then why do it? Enjoy this time of growth within your blog because it is brand new and you can make into what your heart desires.



Feeling inspired yet? I hope so! Honestly, as I said I am nowhere near some self-proclaimed established blogger, yet. I am venturing towards that direction. I find it helpful to hear from the others advice on what they've learned. In addition, as I am still transitioning within my new blog undertaking I can still relate with you on a level experienced blogger may have forgotten along their path. I hope if you are reading this and beginning a blog or still in the early stages this posts brings some awareness to you.


Remember to like, comment, and subscribe. Thanks!



59 views
bottom of page