top of page

My name is Taylor. Located in Cincinnati.

This is my journey I want to share with you.

Fashion. Beauty. Lifestyle

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Search

Dating as a Millennial

Updated: Oct 31, 2019


I have been in the dating scene for a couple months after ending a 3-year relationship last Fall. Let me tell you, I am not a big fan of dating especially today’s style of dating. Ya girl is not having a hot girl summer, whatsoever.


I have gained some insight that I want to share with you for either comedic relief or general inquiry on today’s 20-something dating scene. I am in no way a pro at dating, but is anyone? My take on dating is from the millennial aspect, and the crazy stigmas that go along with it.


1. Dating Apps – This is where I began, and I am sure most others around my age do the same. There’s an array of sources to choose depending on your needs/wants. I think the overall consensus of online dating is to question whether you are looking for just a hookup or something more. My approach on using the apps is to decipher that right from the beginning when speaking with someone on a dating app. I am not solely looking for a hookup, so I make that known from the start. For myself, it makes it easy to weed out the genuine connection with people, then lead from there. With anything online these days keep your guard up and don’t trust anyone. If it feels too good to be true, it probably is.



2. Ghosting – “the practice of ending a personal relationship with someone by suddenly and without explanation withdrawing from all communication.” This is one of my personal annoyances with millennial dating. You build a connection with someone, go on a couple dates, think things are headed in the right direction, THEN BOOM, person disappears off the face of the earth! Okay, bit dramatic, sure, but that is what happens. Call me old fashion but if I am no longer interested, I give notice to a person. “Hey things, aren’t working out. You’re great just not for me.” Seems easy enough to me. I think our generation has a habit of only taking into consideration our needs and not the respect of others.



3. Don’t be TOO interested – Another pet peeve of mine. So, dating as a millennial means you need to be aloof, uninterested, detached so to not get too invested. Maybe that thinking stems from not wanting to get hurt or not be too emotionally attached. I think that is okay at the beginning as you’re starting to get to know someone, but if it continues, how do you fully get to know someone? Is it so wrong to want to be invested and/or showing someone, you care about them? My advice is to follow your gut and things feel off don’t play games.



4. Situationships – So you’re talking to someone for a few months, going on dates, they’re coming over to your place, maybe hooking up, but wait…you’re not actually together because you’re not “official.” Make it make sense! It seems people want all the aspects of a relationship but not the title. Are titles important? My notion to date is to lead to marriage so if it’s not going anywhere, don’t waste people’s time.



5. Have fun – Don’t take it too seriously. You’re still young and your time is not running out. Dating as a millennial allows us to have more options compared to other generations. In addition, as women we can financially, physically, and mentally live without a man in our generation. So just take it slow and get to know the fun in people. Step outside your comfort zone and try something/someone different! Ya never know what workout might just.



Are you dating? How's the dating scene been for you? Let me know in the comments ,

67 views
bottom of page