top of page

My name is Taylor. Located in Cincinnati.

This is my journey I want to share with you.

Fashion. Beauty. Lifestyle

Home: GetSubscribers_Widget

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Search

Happy Holidays! Bah! Humbug - How to Get Through This Joyful Season

The holiday season is here! Many of us are preparing for our family gatherings for the holidays. For most of us this is a happy time to get together with loved ones to show your gratitude for one another. However, in reality there are some people who loathe the holiday season entirely. I would say I fall in a happy medium between those two sentiments.


I love the holidays because it is a magical time full of gift giving and traditional cheer. On the contrast, the holidays have changed drastically from when I was child and it doesn't always feel has magical as it once did. Today I share with you how to overcome some of those holiday woes.


1. Don't succumb to pressure by your family members.


Family gatherings can cause serious anxiety and trauma. I am a big advocate for facing your issues head-on. However, if the issue is a triggering family member then it may be best to remove yourself from the situation.


2. Start your own or carryout existing past holiday traditions


For me, my father passing meant many traditions passed away as well. If that is the case for you, create your own holiday tradition. For example, I am hosting my first Friendsgiving this year and I hope to continue it as a new tradition with my close friends. Find something you love during the holidays that makes you happy and make it a tradition


3. Treat yourself


The holidays are a time for giving, and who else knows what you want more than yourself? Buy yourself that grand gift you've been eyeing as a holiday treat from you to you!


4. Stop worrying about how things should be


Your holidays are going to be different from your others friends, co-workers, movies, and etc. Try to eliminate the pressure of having the "perfect" holiday season. Remember it is only about two months out of the year and it always returns. So you didn't get that dazzling huge Christmas tree or prepare a scrumptious holiday meal? So what! It is what you made it and the people you shared your time with.


5. Remember it is about the time spent, not dollars.


Think back to your past holidays. What do you remember most? I remember quality time spent with my family not the exact gift I got. That is the important to remember during the holidays. Don't stress out about finding the most perfect expensive gift for your loved ones. Focus on making lasting memories.


I hope your holidays are stress-free as possible. Focus on the good and do what is best for you to get through. Your happiness matters just as much as anyone else's. Keep it simple and fun!



34 views
bottom of page